top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


I finally read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green a bit ago. (Click on the title to see the goodreads page associated with this book.)

I may as well warn you now: A lot of people are going to disagree with my view here. However, I shall persevere!

Do not get me wrong: I liked this book. Please remember that through what follows. I liked this book.

Okay.

Ready?

I did NOT love this book.

Gasp! Oh no! What? How can that be? Well there goes all my credibility as a reader, right?

Hold on, put down the rotten tomatoes, and let me explain.

I'll start with the positives. The big one is the tone of the writing. While it did feel like it was "trying too hard" in some places (I know, I know, I said positives!), I thought the tone was also irreverent and just plain funny. Perhaps not the best way to describe cancer and sadness, but there you have it.

I loved Isaac. I thought he was interesting and I enjoyed the dynamic between him and Gus. It was equal parts believable and heartwarming.

I cried. I am pretty sure that was the point of this story, right? To make people cry? Well, good news: it was successful in that. Though I did not sob, which I do in some books, and it took me longer to cry than I thought it would, tears definitely were shed.

I didn't hate Hazel or Gus as characters.

Now the part that bugged me. What was the deal with the relationship between Hazel and Gus? I think, because I didn't like the way it started, I never really "got on board" with the whole thing.

He's staring at her through Support Group, and she is clearly uncomfortable, but he keeps doing it anyway. And then it is all okay. Why? Because he's a cutie.

Look, let me just say it: He was hot. A nonhot boy stares at you relentlessly and it is, at best, awkward and, at worst, a form of assault. But a hot boy…well.

I know it is just one little part of a book that has some great lines, but I just couldn't get over this one. This was the foundation on which the entire relationship was built.

Now, I am all for realism, and I do think this was a realistic beginning for a teenage relationship. Here is my problem with it: throughout the rest of the book, these two characters are upheld to some incredible standard. Is it their pretentiousness? That same irreverent tone that I liked? Their experience with cancer, which is awful and heartbreaking? Regardless, these two are treated as adults. They are lauded as this incredible couple, this shining paradigm of great romance. Look at this famous line:

I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.

That is a beautiful line, so I am expecting a beautiful love. And it's great that Hazel thinks that Gus is hot, it really is, but this is just not a great love.

Had this been a novel about some precocious teenagers dealing with a terrible disease, if that was the focus and the romance was secondary, then I probably would have loved this book. But it wasn't. The romance was the focus, and everything else, yes, even cancer, is somewhere in the backdrop.

Again, let me clarify: I did like this book. But perhaps, if I was in the target age range of young adults, I may have liked it more. Perhaps, had I not been expecting so much, I would have liked it more. Perhaps, has I been able to get on board with the romance, I would have liked it more.

Regardless, I just wish I liked it more.

 

Many people have read this book. Have you? Did you love it, or not so much? I'd love to hear your opinions! Please comment below.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page