top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: Sense and Sensibility

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


A warning: I am horribly biased in reading Austen. She was the first author whose works I just fell in love with. I think she is brilliant. If you do not like classic novels, romance, and regency period pieces, you probably will not agree with me on this. If you do, well, read on! (You can read on anyway, don't worry!)

When this novel was first published, Jane Austen's name did not appear as author. Instead, it was simply listed as being written by "A Lady."

Now we know better.

This classic study of romance and propriety and all the manners of the Regency era follows the Dashwood sisters. I first read it as a teenager, but now, electing to read (or reread!) all of Austen's works this spring, I am approaching it with fresh eyes.

I love the fact that Austen does not seem to be pointing out which is better - Elinor's sense, or Marianne's sensibility - but rather, highlighting how important it is that these traits work in balance.

Plus, the relationship between the sisters is amazing.

Before there was Anna and Elsa, there was Marianne and Elinor. I adore them both, but especially Elinor. She is just so darned admirable! She keeps her small family going, and is the most supportive sister ever when Marianne is heartbroken. And the way that Marianne grows and matures is pretty impressive. She cannot be dismissed as just a silly girl by the end of the book.

Do not forget: at the end of the day, this is a romance. And for that, I have two words for you: Colonel Brandon. I have no shame admitting my fondness for certain fictional characters (looking at you, Mr. Darcy and Atticus Finch), but how could I forget about Brandon?

I was always confused as to how Elinor and Colonel Brandon did not end up together, but as long as these two characters are happy, I'm happy. And there is not really anything wrong with Edward, either, though I may be subconsciously swayed by the image of a young Hugh Grant in this role.

But even then, I'm sorry, I have to come back to young Alan Rickman. I mean come on!

If you have not seen the 1995 film version, you need to do so. It may be tied for my favourite Austen adaptation. (Yes, I have more than one favourite Austen adaptation. Don't judge me.)

Austen's writing is always witty, lovely, and smart. This book is no difference. Several times I felt like she should be dropping a mic, or at least flipping her hair after a particularly biting remark. Her characters are multi-dimensional. Not perfect, but not horribly flawed (for the most part) either.

Look at some of the many examples of Austen's writing style and characters, evident in this novel:

“Know your own happiness. You want nothing but patience- or give it a more fascinating name, call it hope.”

“I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but, like everybody else, it must be in my own way.”

“I have not wanted syllables where actions have spoken so plainly.”

“I come here with no expectations, only to profess, now that I am at liberty to do so, that my heart is and always will be...yours.”

“I will be calm. I will be mistress of myself.”

“Elinor agreed to it all, for she did not think he deserved the compliment of rational opposition.”

“To wish was to hope, and to hope was to expect”

“If a book is well written, I always find it too short.” (My personal favourite!)

Sure, the story is perhaps not as tight as her later works, but when you are Jane Austen, you can get away with it, I think.

 

Have you read this classic? What did you think? I'd love to hear (well, read) your comments, below, or through my contact page, here. And please subscribe to my site to get my monthly newsletter!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page