top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: In a Dark, Dark Wood

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


I'm traveling right now in Finland with a group of my students - 15 of them! - and a couple of other teachers. It's all part of an exchange program we have between our schools.

When I was packing for this trip, I had to make a call about what books I would be bringing with me. I had quite a stack of marking already packed, plus gifts for the school and other teachers involved, and I was only traveling with a carry on.

So I needed to be selective with my book packing.

Because this is a picture I took of the books my husband and I brought on our vacation this summer:

Yeah. You can see the problem.

So, I only brought a couple books with me on this trip. Today's book review looks at one of them.

In a Dark, Dark Wood is the debut novel by Ruth Ware. I rarely buy books marketed as "scary", but this one I picked up because, quite frankly, it's freaking gorgeous.

See?

And it's all textured!

So, I judged a book by its cover, and bought it.

My expectations were high, so I saved it for my reading right before Halloween.

My expectations were not really met.

Now, I am going to be totally fair and explain that maybe, maybe this review is affected by sleep deprivation and jet lag, and the fact that I've been reading a lot of Stephen King it seems.

It's pretty hard for a book that promises to be "scary" to live up to Stephen King.

That being said, though, this one was the equivalent of a giant shoulder shrug.

I wasn't really scared at any point, and I'm one of those people who runs up the stairs from the basement just to get out of the dark.

In other words, I scare pretty easily.

The writing was fine; I actually liked the style in some places.

But my major problem with this book was the characters.

It's told in first person narrative, so we see the world through Leonora, a young woman and reclusive writer. She experiences "revelations, [...] an unnerving memory, [...] and a haunting realization."

The problem is, I just really didn't care about Leonora.

No, that's not quite right. It isn't that I didn't care. I actively didn't like her.

Which can be fine. There is no rule saying you have to like the protagonist. I don't always like Danielle in my own novel! But in this book, I think we are supposed to like Leonora.

In a story like this, I want to cheer for the protagonist. I want her to be flawed, sure, but also complex, and if not outright kick-ass, at least redeeming.

I just couldn't get behind Nora. She's so adolescent and judgmental... most of the characters came across that way, actually.

The story itself is a little uneven, though it's entertaining enough. It's mostly fast-paced throughout, so although I was left wanting more, wanting to care, I didn't feel like a lot of my time was wasted at least.

Overall, this read was fine, but not great.

I probably could have read it at home and saved the suitcase space for something else.

 

Have you read this new novel? Have you ever felt rather disappointed by a beautiful book not quite delivering?

Comment below, or through my contact page! And don't forget to subscribe to my monthly newsletter while you're on my contact page.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page