top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Happy (Belated) Birthday, Blog!

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


On March 17, 2017, I posted by very first blog post. I had spent the week previous setting up my website, researching blogs, and configuring my author page. I'd spent a solid month previous to that writing like mad on my first novel, which was about be be officially titled as "The Girl with the Empty Suitcase".

It was a busy, but exciting, time.

My first post was called "Hello, World." You can find that here.

I remember being curled up in my husband's favourite easy chair, finger (well, mouse) hovering over that "post" button. As soon as I pushed that button, I knew people would know - would actually KNOW - that I was attempting to write a book.

Scary stuff.

But I did publish that post, and then another, and another, and a whole bunch more.

And then a book.

So now, just after this website and blog has officially celebrated its birthday, its one-year anniversary, I thought I'd do a little bit of a "look back" post.

As I bid adieu to 2017, I did a "favourite reads" of the year post. You can find that here.

Instead, I'm going to look at my single favourite post from every month of the past year.

What were your favourites?

 

March 2017: Other than the first post ever, my favourite post was actually a book review for Juliet's Answer. I really loved that book.

April 2017: My favourite post of April was actually my first description of The Girl with the Empty Suitcase. This was the first time I introduced Danielle and Mark and their lives to anyone, and it was rather exciting to me.

May 2017: This is an easy one. :) I loved, loved, loved my write-up about the Jane Austen ball I went to. Check out Hanging Out in Austenland, here.

June 2017: Something kind of silly for this choice. When I was practicing for my first writing contest, which focused on flash fiction, I asked for prompts. So, I wrote this piece: A Pirate in Moose Jaw.

July 2017: Maybe not my prettiest writing in this blog, but something I've referred to again and again is my post on famous books and their word counts.

August 2017: Hmm, a trickier month. I suppose my favourite, just because it reminds me of my awesome Jamaica vacation last summer, and because how I deal with nerves is definitely books, was my recommended reads list of stories on (or near) the ocean that didn't go very smoothly.

September 2017: Another easy favourite. I LOVE the cover of The Girl with the Empty Suitcase. The cover artist is my amazing, talented mother-in-law, and in September I did an official cover reveal.

October 2017: I did a few "recommended reads" this month, but most of my time was focused on final preparations for the release of The Girl with the Empty Suitcase. My favourite list was the one I made for commonly banned books.

November 2017: This was the official release month! I posted a lot about it, but I am choosing to highlight my official release announcement.

December 2017: I'm choosing my overview of my reading challenges for 2018. Because I really love reading challenges.

January 2018: I was torn between a couple for this, including my look at favourite reads of 2017, mentioned earlier, but my very favourite was probably a chance to be all introspective in my look back at my thirty-two favourite things from my thirty-second year.

February 2018: I liked a few, but I'm going with my official announcement (and short explanatinon) of book #2!

March 2018 (so far!): Another tough one. Do I choose the more informative part on women's fiction, or my more personal reflection in my book review of 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl? I think I'm going to go with the review, since it was so conflicting for me.

 

Do you have a favourite blog post of mine? A favourite aspect? Some recommendations? Post below, or contact me via my website page.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Christopher

My collection of short fiction pieces has a tentative release of fall 2024. Here is a selection from that collection, to act as a "sneak preview". Copyright © 2018 Krysta MacDonald CHRISTOPHER Somethi

bottom of page