top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Happy (Sort of) Birthday

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


Exactly one year ago today was my book launch party.

The Girl with the Empty Suitcase was released November 1, 2017. That night I hosted an online release party, which was a lot of fun. I even read a chapter from the book. There were online games and prizes and chatting. And my little book was released into the world.

On the evening of November 9, in our local library, which was just incredibly awesome, I read a chapter, answered questions, signed some books, and otherwise celebrated the launch of my first (but certainly not my last!) novel.

To see my initial reaction to the launch party, visit here.

To read my full recap, though, with pictures, visit here.

It's been one year, and still I am overwhelmed by the support of my friends, family, coworkers, and this community I now call home.

I'm looking forward to a new holiday season, and all the markets I'm signed up for this year. And then, in the new year, probably early spring, I'm looking forward to the release of my new book.

But this time last year, I was stressing out that my books wouldn't make it. I was nervous no one would show up (how wrong I was!). I worried no one would buy my book, or worse, if they did, they would hate it. I thought no one would ask questions, that people, if they did show up, would be bored. I was concerned about all the things that could have gone wrong.

But then the only thing that was wrong was me; all my stresses and concerns. It was a perfect evening, a perfect launch, and I can't wait for the launch of To Air the Laundry this spring.

Thank you to everyone who came out to celebrate with me that night. Thank you to everyone who has supported me before then, and since. That little book means a lot to me, and for all of you who read this blog, who subscribe to my monthly newsletter, who show up to my events, who have read my book and left reviews, who have chatted about my book and sold copies to friends and family and coworkers...

You're all awesome. Thank you for a year of being so awesome. I hope for many more years.

I cannot believe that it has already been a year that The Girl with the Empty Suitcase has already been out in the great big world.

Wow.

It was lovely to reread those old posts about my launch. I was moved to remember the support from so many. Thank you.

And happy birthday, The Girl with the Empty Suitcase.

My cup still runneth over.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Christopher

My collection of short fiction pieces has a tentative release of fall 2024. Here is a selection from that collection, to act as a "sneak preview". Copyright © 2018 Krysta MacDonald CHRISTOPHER Somethi

bottom of page