top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: The Girl from the Channel Islands

What's this? Two weeks in a row?! Actual book reviews?


Yup. Kind of a big deal...


Anyway, a dear friend of mine lent me, well, several books, but the subject of today's review was among them.


Let's back up first. One of those "stuck with me" books is the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I read it years ago on a plane, and while I wasn't surprised that I liked it, I was surprised by how much I liked it. (Plus, on my list for fantastic titles!)


This reminds me of it in the sense of place and the setting as a whole. I didn't know much about the occupation of the British islands during WWII, but after The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, I became very interested.


So, if you read and liked that one, perhaps this may also speak to you.


The Girl from the Channel Islands.

“Survival, it seemed, was an expensive business for the soul.”


It's 1940, and Hedy, a young Jewish girl, has escaped Vienna to the island of Jersey. Her employers have fled, but she's remained behind and is now trapped as the Nazis occupy the island. Her best hope is to work as a translater for the officers and hide in plain sight. She relies on close friends around her when she has no choice - including a sympathetic German officer.


The synopsis of this book adds that "Hedy’s remarkable story reminds us that it’s often up to ordinary people to be quiet heroes in the face of injustice." And I love that.


Don't get me wrong, I love sweeping adventures and superheroes and action stories. But my favourite heroes, particularly in history, are those ordinary people leading quiet lives who stand up for those who cannot stand up for themselves.


Plus, a solid chunk of romance thrown in for good measure? Yeah, I'm in.


The writing is very descriptive, and because of that, there is a solid sense of place throughout the novel. While there are exciting and tense moments, most of the book is a "slow burn"; this fits the story itself well, and generally is my own preference, so I appreciate that.


The characters are sympathetic, though not always likable. The main ones are based on true people, including Hedy herself. This all was very realistic to me, so, again, it was appreciated. Hedy isn't a saint. Dory (who actually may be my favourite character) has some depth to her. Things don't always turn out perfectly; but isn't it more realistic that way, anyway?


This is not a perfect book. It felt like there were some "holes" in character and plot, particularly near the beginning, but I was still hooked and still remember it months later. If I was rating it, which I sometimes do and sometimes do not, it would be a solid 4 / 5 for me.


Also, I want to visit these islands.


“Even if you forget the past, it will remember you."

 

What type of historical fiction do you like? While I read a lot of WWII pieces, I do appreciate an example of something different from that time period, or something from a different time period altogether.


I'd love to read your recommendations! You can contact me here.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page