top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Happy October, everyone!


As soon as September hits, I start embracing the fall, but come October, it is full-on autumn in my world. Bring on the sweaters and cider and scarves; and yes, all the pumpkin spice.


And bring on the Halloween books! All this month I am reading and reviewing spooky reads, so light a jack-o-lantern (but not a black flame candle!) and snuggle in!





Honesty alert: I started this short book a year ago. And then I set it aside (figuratively; I had the e-book on my phone's app) and forgot about it. So, in September, when I stumbled upon it again, I decided to restart it. And I finished it the next day.


“Ethics are my veiled mistress; I love them, but know not what they are.”


I knew the story, so I was surprised by how much I actually liked this book, especially considering I was able to ignore it for so long the first time around attempting to read it. It was more analytical than I expected, particularly in the way it addresses the contextual beliefs of social class at the time.


I find historical context of classic books very interesting, and this one definitely provided more than I was expecting. Plus, I was surprised by the style and changing narration with which the story was told.


The beginning half supplies the "creep" factor, the second half supplies the morality and meaning and analysis, the focus of the duality of good and evil that exists in all people, and that Stevenson was so interested in. So if you're looking for spooky, you'll get it, but not all the way through.


Of course, much of the eerie lies in the mystery, and since spoilers don't really qualify after more than a hundred years, that mystery is basically nonexistent (unless of course you truly don't know anything about the story, in which case... how?)



There is some truly fantastic imagery, and the tone is just anxious and mysterious and lovely. While now the "Jekyll and Hyde" idea is a a bit of a trope, it was unique and revolutionary at the time, and it played its role beautifully.


It is short, so if you're looking for a true "deep dive", you aren't going to find it within these short pages. But moreso, it will fly by. This is quintessential Victorian literature, quintessential Gothic literature, quintessential CLASSIC literature... It's one of those "cornerstone" pieces, that influenced so many other writers and works that followed, so, Halloween or any time of year, I recommend this one.


 

Have you read this classic? What did you think of it?


Comment here, or via my contact page, here. And while you're there, don't forget to subscribe to my (occasional) newsletter in order to get free short writing stories, writing updates, links to book reviews and blog posts, and sneak peeks into giveaways, events, and other updates!



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page