top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: Treasure Island

For the past several months, I have been completely consumed by my involvement in the local theatre group's production of a pantomime of Treasure Island.


So, now that the last curtain has fallen, I thought it about time to come up with a book review of the classic Stevenson novel.


I first read this book years ago, and then again in university (I think it was for a Children's Literature class, but I could be mistaken), and then reviewed it again when I helped edit the script for this play.

This is your absolutely standard children's adventure story. In fact, it set the tropes common in adventure stories, and, moreover, in what we now consider pirate lore. The characters have become so well-known over the years that they are essentially tropes themselves. The greedy yet "a bit dim" Squire Trelawney, the straight-laced, honourable Captain Smollett, Jim, earnest and young and just wanting a father figure. And, of course, Long John Silver, who epitomizes our modern sensibilities of what it means to be a pirate.

(Wooden-leg? Check. Parrot? Check. Totally sneaky and double-crossing? Check. A code of honour? Alcohol? Mist? Shipwrecks? Castways? The good ol' skull-and-crossbones? You guessed it: Check, check, check, check, check, and check.)


Before the Hollywood romantic notions of Pirates of the Caribbean, there was Treasure Island. It's been made into many, many movies (my favourite features the Muppets and Tim Curry of course!) Most of our ideas of piracy come from movies and books, and this is the one that really started it all, making the history of legitimate pirates a heck of a lot more adventurous and a heck of a lot less terrible and violent.


It's an adventure story through and through. The plot is all action-driven, and it is meant for pure entertainment. Stevenson saved his symbolism and theories and deeper meanings for Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, but that doesn't reflect poorly on this story. Best suited for children or YA readers I think; it's a short read, and I enjoyed the reminder of a tale I once loved.


Plus, I love the romanticized, completely fictional, adventure-driven pirate lore that exists today!


It's all in good fun. Pure escapism, and there's definitely nothing wrong with that.

 

What children's classic do you enjoy? Have you ever read this one?


Comment below, or via my contact page, and while you're there, don't forget to subscribe to my newsletter, which I send out rarely, and in which you can find free stories and updates on new writing.


And I want to hear all about your thoughts on pirates! Share them below!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page