top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing

It's the first full week of the new year, and I thought I would celebrate by posting an actual, honest-to-goodness book review!



Where the Crawdads Sing is one of those books I heard about throughout 2019. And by heard about, I mean a lot. Constantly. It seems everyone was talking about what a great book it was.


For the second year, I got together with a small group of former coworkers who have become friends, and we've had a book exchange. Inspired by the Icelandic tradition of Jolabokaflod (which translates roughly to "Christmas book flood", where people exchange books and then spend Christmas Eve reading), we draw names to exchange books and have a lovely evening of visiting and Christmas cheer; the lady who hosted this year went so far above and beyond!


The lady who drew my name this year gifted me Where the Crawdads Sing, and since I was busy with family all Christmas, I made it the first read of the new year.



And what a first read! I read it all in one sitting!


Part coming of age tale, part survival story, part family drama, part murder mystery, part love story, part poetry... all kinds of good though.


Kya is "Marsh Girl"; for most of her life, she's lived completely alone in the marshland of North Carolina. The local townsfolk ignore her for the most part, except when they're daring one another to tag her home. But when popular Chase Andrews is found dead in the marsh, suspicions turn to to Kya. However, she isn't what everyone says about her. She is quiet, shy, but so intelligent, and a strange combination of fiercely independent and heartbreakingly lonely.


The plot is revealed piece by piece, jigsaw pieces fitting together to reveal Kya's story - both in the past, developing her identity, and in the "present", as local police investigate Chase's death.


I love this story structure. It reflects the fluidity and depth of the marsh itself. Pieces are revealed over time and with experience. Kya's character is strong but vulnerable; she is all too human and realistic in an unbelievable situation. The characters around her, too, are all realistic, round,and fully realized. Even the most despicable ones had moments of redemption, brief though they may be, and for that nothing felt superficial. The story structure and characters kept the plot moving along smoothly, in that delicious confusion of wanting to find out what happens next but not wanting it all to end too quickly.


The writing, too, is itself lovely. There are snippets of poetry throughout, as Kya discovers language, and the reader lives that discovery and new love with her.


“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”


Though this is also the story of those in her life who love her, who leave her, who hurt her, who protect her, who ignore her, who condemn her... it is also the story of the land itself. It is the marsh, Kya's home, that is her true heart.


“There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot.”


Kya cannot.


In this story, author Delia Owens explores that connection between human and nature, and the connection between our past and our present. That which touches us as children forever leaves an imprint on our identities as we age, so even as adults we wear the fingerprints and scars.


“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behaviour until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”


This was such a strong book, one that made me laugh, cry, clutch my breath in my throat... one that will stick with me long after I send this blog post review out there into the world.


Highly recommend.

 

What's your first read of 2020? Any good recommendations?


Comment here, or via my contact page. And don't forget to subscribe to my newsletter; you'll on;y hear from me once in a while, I promise!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page