top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

10 Bookish Gifts (That Aren't Books!)


I get it. It's Christmas, and the shopping list is massive. The days are speeding along, lost in a mess of wrapping paper and tinsel and baking flour.

And then you get to that person on your list. You know the one... the book-lover.

Easy, right? Get a book! Except... how do you know WHICH book? What books do they have? You've seen the shelves after all, the library. Plus EVERYONE knows who the book-lovers are, so EVERYONE will be gifting books!

So what do you do?

Enter... bookish gifts!

I've tried to include a couple of price-points and styles to help you out, and I've included direct links to specific items on etsy, by clicking on the images, so if you want to support some small businesses this season, you can!

I'd be pretty pleased to find any of these under my tree or in my stocking... or any other bookish gift! Or a book, for that matter!


So in no particular order...

 

Book-Themed Candle


I have a couple Frostbeard book-themed candles. There is a huge variety... Though what smells better than old books, really?



Leather Journal


My hubby got me something similar years ago, and it's now the place I record my most prized memories. The leather itself is warm and lovely, opening it up to write in transports me to a little English pub, writing alongside those classic authors. Or perhaps reading, with a steaming cup of tea and a sweater with elbow patches.




Book Scarf (or Shirt or Similar)


Okay, say you know that the person you're buying for already has several copies of their favourite book (ahem - Pride and Prejudice - ahem), but you want to support the love of said book. (Or you have no idea what they do or do not have). How about having their favourite title on a scarf or shirt? Then they can proudly wear their love of literature!


Book-Themed Wall Art


I have a few book-related signs and such I've been gifted, and I love them. You can scour etsy, markets, support a local artist, or even create your own! There is a huge price variance with this one, but that gives you so much room to personalize it!


Themed T-Shirt


Clothes are tricky, what with size wonderings at all. And everyone has lots of t-shirts. But you know what everyone doesn't have lots of? Book-related t-shirts. There is a reason we all love the comfort and ease of shirts. But shirts with personality? Yeah, that's even better. I have a few (one that says, "Books, Tea, and Oxford Commas", for example), but I don't have this hyperbole one.... yet.



 

So that's the list I have so far... Some other suggestions might be reading socks/slippers, book trays for the bath, lamps (like clip-on ones), book-themed decor (like those fabulous book lamps), bookmarks, book journals, and generally anything cozy.


What are your favourite book-related items for gift-giving? Do you have some great bookish gifts on your list this year? I'd love to read your suggestions, below or via my contact page.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

bottom of page