top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Goodbye, Spring.

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


In April, I came up with a "Spring Bucket List". I thought, since today is officially the first day of summer, I would revisit this list and see how I did.

1. Clean up your yard (or garden or whatever)

Check! I actually built a new garden bed from reclaimed wood this year in addition to my usual yardwork.

2. Declutter and clean out something (I already did my closet)

I did the closet at the beginning of spring, as already pointed out.

3. Two words: farmers' market. How can you not get inspired by those colours and smells and everything?

Our markets don't really start until the end of June, but I am looking forward to them!

4. Jump in puddles. Bonus points for kicking water while wearing colourful rain boots.

I didn't pull out my colourful boots this year, but I definitely did kick around some water, and I always enjoy walking in the rain.

5. BBQ! I know some people who BBQ all winter, but we don't. That first BBQ is just so awesome. I'm lucky enough to be the daughter of a farmer, and there is nothing like beef from my dad's farm on the BBQ.

Oh yeah, we definitely have started BBQing! Yum!

6. Bike ride! I have a purple "townie", complete with a giant basket and a little bell. I love it.

I am getting my bike all tuned up!

7. Go hiking. There is a gorgeous walk a matter of mere blocks from my house. When I take the dogs there and the sun is shining and the ice over the creek has melted, I know spring is really here.

I've gone on a couple of mini-hikes through the walk that I describe here. I am hoping to do some bigger ones this summer.

8. Plan summer camping trips, or go on a spring one. Our first camping event is in May this year. It may snow, but it still counts.

We loved our first camping trip in May. The weather actually cooperated! We are looking forward to the bigger camping trip we have planned for July.

9. Bring out the deck/patio furniture.

Another check! I have already spent a fair amount of time out on our deck.

10. Sit or swing in a hammock if you are fortunate enough to have one. And understand how jealous I am of you.

Still jealous.

11. Fly a kite. I live in an incredibly windy place, so that doesn't really get to happen here. Fly one for me, okay?

There is no point owning a kite here.

12. Dye Easter eggs. And then...

We were gone for Easter, so we didn't do that this year.

13, Organize an Easter egg hunt.

We were lying on a beach at Easter, so there was no egg hunting this year!

14. Plan a garden and plant some flowers.

Check! Though I mostly planted vegetables this year.

15. Have a picnic. Even if it is just with takeout or something. Add a blanket and eat it outside and it is suddenly festive.

Does eating out on my deck count for a picnic?

16. Wander through the garden centre at your local hardware store. I always leave there with at least one decorative, colourful planting pot. Oops.

Hey, I suddenly realized that my garden-centre-wanderings have not resulted in a new planting pot this year!

Yet.

17. Build a bird feeder.

I put up a new hummingbird one instead.

18. Plant things that bees love! (The specific "things" will obviously depend on where you live.)

Definitely! But they love nothing near as well as the blossoms on my apple trees! The trees were just humming the other day.

19. Try something new, whether that is something kind of daunting, travel, or even a new recipe. I love trying a new salad or BBQ recipe.

I made a salad I hadn't before for our staff party. I am saying that counts.

20. Do something artistic! I think spring is a great time for a paint night with some ladies and some wine.

My creative endeavours have been limited to gardening and writing lately. Oh, I guess I did make a new summer sign. And I have definitely been drinking wine.

21. Spring cleaning, preferably with some great music going. I am a particular fan of serious girl rock for this occasion.

Spring cleaning is about half-done. I will tackle the rest after school lets out.

22. Go for a road trip, even just for an afternoon one weekend.

Our road trips have been short, but I still say they count! My husband and mother-in-law went on a longer one to visit his grandparents earlier this month. Summer road trips are fun, too!

23. Play with some animals.

Check! I actually built a new garden bed from reclaimed wood this year in addition to my usual yardwork.

24. Mow the lawn. I dare you to not feel like spring with the smell of fresh-cut grass in the air.

Of course we have done this one.

25. Read a book outside. I recommend one of those seasonal reads I mentioned earlier.

Absolutely. I love to read in the hot tub or on my deck, and spring and fall are probably my two favourite times to do that.

 

Now I am looking forward to summer. Summer means time off from my regular job - which I love. Time to plan for next year, clean my house, visit friends and family I haven't seen since Christmas or last summer, hikes and crafting and refocusing. It also means a lot of reading and writing!

Stay tuned for updates on my book throughout the summer months. The countdown to the end of the school year is on!

Be sure to comment below on how you bid adieu to spring and hola to summer. And don't forget to subscribe to get my monthly newsletter!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

bottom of page