top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Seasonal Bucket List Review

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


In October I shared my seasonal bucket list for the fall. With Christmas approaching, I thought I would revisit this list today before sharing my winter one later this week.

How was your fall? Mine was so busy! Moreso than usual, what with the release of The Girl with the Empty Suitcase, and all! Not to mention a trip to Finland, school and all its associated busy-ness, and just the day-to-day realities of life.

I do love revisiting, reviewing and reflecting, though!

So here we go:

1. Make apple cider.

Check! I love apple cider and never need convincing for this one!

2. Visit a corn maze.

Nope, not this year, but I have before.

3. Read outside.

Definitely! I read a bit on our outdoor sectional before the snow started and we had to pack it up for the year.

4. Go hiking,

Not a full hike, but some shorter walks.

5. Go to an antique or vintage store.

One while visiting during Thanksgiving. I really, really wanted a gorgeous roll-top desk that was there, but sadly, we had nowhere to put it at home, and no way to get it home even if we had! It was fun though, and we still came home with an awesome vintage sign!

6. Watch a scary movie.

Definitely did this leading up to Halloween!

7. Drink a pumpkin spice latte or pumpkin beer.

Both. Numerous times.

8. Visit a fall festival/fair.

Not really, but I sure went to a few Christmas ones in November and December.

9. Decorate Halloween pumpkins.

We didn't do that this year, since I came back from Finland the day before Halloween.

10. Be thankful. (I really love Thanksgiving!)

Definitely.

11. Eat turkey (with all the trimmings!)

Heck yeah. We had Thanksgiving turkey dinner with the in-laws, and I make a turkey for American Thanksgiving at home every year, just because we really like turkey.

12. Create your Halloween costume.

My friend and coworker did this for me. Three of us went to work as the grammar police! I love it!

13. Have a fall photoshoot. (People like to use this for their Christmas cards. My cards are done already, but I still want to have a fall photoshoot. Except mine will feature my dogs.)

We took part in some photos with my family, at Thanksgiving and then again at my grandparents' 60th anniversary party. I'll be doing pictures with the dogs closer to Christmas. I'm imagining lights and scarves. I wonder if they'll allow that.

14. Rearrange your closet and accessories (Hello leggings, booties, and scarves!)

Yup! Yay cozy clothes and ugly Christmas sweaters now!

15. Bake a pie.

Or several! Apple and blueberry and chocolate, oh my!

16. Hello, hockey season! (Yes, I know a lot of people see fall as football season. And that it is. But it is also the beginning of hockey season.)

Go Leafs! Woooo! I also love being part of a hockey pool at work.

17. Have a board game night.

You can never have too many of these! I love board game nights, and have had a few, with even more on the horizon.

18. Read some of those books from your "tbr" list. (TBR = to be read.) Maybe some of the ones you didn't get to this summer, or something scary for Halloween!

I checked a few off the list, but have so, so, so many more!

19. Make chili.

That's hubby's job. :)

20. Make a casserole.

So many casseroles. Love them.

21. Visit a haunted house.

Not this year, unfortunately. Or maybe fortunately. I'm kind of a wuss.

22. Put together a large puzzle.

We started one at Thanksgiving at my in-laws, but didn't finish it. There are more puzzles in our future as the holidays approach.

23. Prep your house and yard for the colder seasons. For us, this means moving a few things into storage (i.e. our garage), and pulling out fluffy blankets. And maybe a bit of decorating.

Check!

24. Eat roasted pumpkin seeds.

Not home-roasted ones, unfortunately. That's what comes from not carving pumpkins, I suppose.

25. Take a walk through the leaves.

Oh yes! The Thanksgiving weekend we spend partly with my family in a mountain town with gorgeous leaves, perfect for walking through!

 

Stay tuned for my winter bucket list on Wednesday!

What has been your favourite part of the fall season?

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

bottom of page