top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Read Your (Book)Shelf Challenge

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


Today starts my onslaught of reading challenges on my blog! Each of my online challenges (because yes, I do more than just online ones!) will have a specific page I intend to update throughout the year with my progress.

Wish me luck!

This page is for "Read Your (Book) Shelf Challenge".

Here's what you do:

  • Go to your bookshelves. Pick out a book that you've been wanting to read on a particular shelf.

  • Now continue down that line of books on the shelf (in order) until you have 12 books.

  • You will then read your 12 books over the next twelve months, one book each month. You can read them in order (forward or reverse), or you can plug 1 - 12 into a randomizer each month to pick your title for the month. The point is that you're not specifically choosing the book each month. It's chosen for you, either by ordered reading, or random choice.

  • If you find that one of the books is part of a series and you've already read it, I will allow a substitution of another book from the series. However, if you find this happening (a whole series, several by the same author, etc) in the stack/shelf you chose, and you don't like it, I would suggest picking a different stack/shelf.

  • What an awesome way to tackle books gathering dust on your bookshelves. Right?

  • Challenge runs January through December

  • You can cross over books from your 12 books with other challenges.

  • Just remember to stick to the guidelines above.

----

Since many of my TBR books are stacked in front of my shelves (that's what happens when you have so many!), I'll be working my way down a stack of 12. This is easy, since I physically stack TBR books in order of how I think I'll want to read them. Yay!

Follow along here to check out my progress on my 12 books!

1. Mary Green (Melanie Kerr)

2. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)

3. The Thirteenth Tale (Diane Setterfield)

4. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)

5. The House at Riverton (Kate Morton)

6. The Flying Troutmans (Miriam Toews)

7. The Pilot's Wife (Anita Shreve)

8. The Book of Night Women (Marlon James)

9. Secret Daughter (Shilpi Somaya Gowda)

10. Burial Rites (Hannah Kent)

11. David (Ray Robertson)

12. All is Not Forgotten (Wendy Walker)

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2023 Reading Summary

I know, I know, I know. I went and disappeared again. I'm sorry! No excuses, and only a thinly veiled apology. But, with December 2023 knocking on the door, I started looking at my reading goals for t

Reading Challenges - 2021 Edition

Similar to last year, I thought it would be helpful to me to keep track of my reading challenges for this year in one spot on this blog. I love setting reading goals. This year, I'm keeping it fairly

bottom of page