top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

The Pottermore Post!


Some people love rereading Harry Potter every fall. Others, every Christmas.

I'd want to revisit the Yule Ball every year, too.

While I never became obsessed with the Harry Potter world like some, I did enjoy the stories and the appreciation of literature that the books reawakened in so many young people. Many of my students simply love it.

And, of course, I'm a sucker for a personality quiz. So when it first "hit the web", I had to check out Pottermore.

If you haven't see it (and most have I'm sure...), Pottermore, or the Wizarding World, is the official Harry Potter website. There are news articles, features, and a few quizzes.

So of course, when they first went viral, I had to try them out. And while I'm not sure I'd get the same thing today, this is what me playing on the site has led to so far.

The House

Okay, so right away, I disagree with the official sorting hat on the site. Every single other quiz I've ever done says Hufflepuff, through and through. Anyone who's ever met me says Hufflepuff, through and through. There is a slight Ravenclaw leaning, and that would be second strength, but definitely Ravenclaw.

Except the sorting hat put me into Ravenclaw. Which I'm not disappointed in, but definitely don't agree with.

Proud Hufflepuff instead!

The Patronus

White horses, be it mares or stallions, have come to represent warriors on the side of good in folklore and literature. White horses are also rare, making this a near one-of-a-kind Patronus for a truly special witch or wizard.

Those with the white stallion patronus possess a strong sense of self. It is difficult to convince them to turn away from personal beliefs or change who they are. Strength and durability in character make the white stallion especially formidable compared to the conjurers of other horse type patronus.

This one I kind of agree with. At least, I'm comfortable with it!

The Wand

Elm wood with a unicorn hair core, 10" and unyielding flexibility.

I have no idea what this says about me, but I like elms and I am flexible and I like the idea of unicorns so... I'll take it!

 

So have you tried the quizzes? What did you find out? Do you read Harry Potter every year? If so, do you prefer Christmas rereadings or back-to-school ones? Comment below or via my contact page!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

bottom of page