top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Book Review: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Happy review day, everyone!


I'm a sucker for a book with a fantastic title, and this one grabbed me immediately. It was a request, a gift, and one I was definitely looking forward to reading.


A great title! About a book! Heck yes!


Did you know about the blue-skinned people of Kentucky? Because I sure didn't. How about the Kentucky Pack Horse Project? Yeah, me neither.


Cussy Carter is a "book woman". She's called "Bluet" by her patrons for her blue skin. Yes, that's right: blue.


She's 19, and she is the last of the blue-skinned people of Kentucky. Her father has spent his life in the mines and is convinced, with his cough, that he won't be alive much longer. He promised her mother on her deathbed that he'd ensure Cussy was taken care of, so he arranges a marriage to ensure just that.


And it doesn't go well.


So Cussy returns to her books, to her mule, and to her route through the hills, to the impoverished mountainfolk, hard as the land around them. They are people starving - for food, for respect, and for books. And Cussy is as stubborn as the people she visits. Also as shrewd.


But as she tries to make her way in a society that has no place for her - the "coloured" rules of the time don't apply, but the blues aren't accepted by white folk either - she tries to find cures, reasons, and a way to hold on to her pride and independence.


I liked this book. It's one of those rare ones where I was entertained, engrossed, and educated.


Rare indeed.


In the context of the plot, the setting, these people had hard lives. Especially for a woman. Especially for a coloured woman. Especially for a blue-coloured woman.


But Bluet is a tough one. She isn't overly naive, but she is optimistic, and, pardon the cliche, tough-as-nails. She wants a better life for her patrons, and she is uniquely suited to help bring that life to them.


I'd rate this one 4/5 stars, were I to rate it on that good ol' Goodreads rating system. As a matter of fact, I did.


The book is a slow burn, which I like, but there are some pacing issues, particularly in the end. It got a little melodramatic, and I had the feeling, reading it, not unlike when I am marking my students' work and it is clear that they were up against a deadline and rushed through the ending.


By all accounts, this should become a favourite book of mine. The importance of reading? Check. Historical fiction? Check. A strong female protagonist? Check. Learning something? Check. A fantastic title? Check.


And yet there is just something that didn't sit perfectly for me. I do believe it is the ending, but even that was not particularly problematic.


So, all in all, a good read, a recommendation, but not perfect.

 

This was such a popular book this past year or so. Did you read it? Any historical fiction to recommend about an unusual time period or group of people? Be sure to comment here or via my contact page, and while you're there don't forget to subscribe to my (very occasional) newsletter!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Christopher

My collection of short fiction pieces has a tentative release of fall 2024. Here is a selection from that collection, to act as a "sneak preview". Copyright © 2018 Krysta MacDonald CHRISTOPHER Somethi

2023 Reading Summary

I know, I know, I know. I went and disappeared again. I'm sorry! No excuses, and only a thinly veiled apology. But, with December 2023 knocking on the door, I started looking at my reading goals for t

Happy New Year! Wrapping It All Up!

I know I've been MIA again for a while, but I wanted to take this festive opportunity to look back on 2021 and look ahead to 2022. It's been a year, hasn't it? And this year was still less of a crazy

bottom of page