top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Down By The Sea...

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


I'm still in Jamaica, so this post was written before our departure.

One of the things we are planing on doing this trip is completing our scuba diving certification.

I am going to be honest: I am pretty nervous about it. But also excited.

In honour of time underwater, and to embrace some fears, here are some ocean trips that went a little less than smoothly:

In no particular order:

One of the most famous opening lines ever. Adventure, morality, obsession... there is a reason this is a great classic.

Pirates and treasure and adventure, oh my! Not to mention, a coming of age story wrapped in complex characters, questions of good and evil, and one of the most beloved villains in literature.

I first read this as part of a university course on the history of the novel. The history of it is interesting, but do remember that it is not going to be an easy read if you approach it from your twenty-first century eyes. Survival and adventure and history feature in this tale of a man whose love of the ocean put him in the way of numerous outrageous developments.

I reviewed this classic here. I think it is safe to say that not many trips to the beach will have events like the ones depicted in this book. But the horror does take place on a beautiful sandy beach, complete with rich jungle, picturesque cliffs, and relaxing lagoon.

My students say that the island "rocks". Yup.

This one I actually haven't read, though I did read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. A silly version of Austen? Yeah, I am probably going to have to read that. I'm all for things that don't take themselves too seriously, provided they are done well.

The book that inspired the movie that made people everywhere afraid to go in the water. I know, deep down, that when we are scuba diving a man-eating shark is likely not going to attack us.

At least, I am pretty sure.

 

Any great choices that I missed? I'd love to read your comments, either below, or through my contact page, here. And don't forget to subscribe to my newsletter while you are on my contact page!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

Happy Halloween! A Round-Up...

Happy Halloween, everyone! Spooky season is here, even though, depending on where you are and what you think and how you feel, you may be celebrating it a bit differently this year. Last year was our

bottom of page