top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Happy Halloween! A Round-Up...

Happy Halloween, everyone! Spooky season is here, even though, depending on where you are and what you think and how you feel, you may be celebrating it a bit differently this year.


Last year was our first Halloween in this house, and we had well over 100 trick-or-treaters! I loved it. I love handing out candy and seeing all the costumes, and this is the first place we have lived where we had more than a very small handful (as in, five or fewer).


I love Halloween, which is probably a little weird considering what a huge wuss I am when it comes to being scared.


But I like moody Halloween-themed books, and in October I even want to watch scary movies! I love decorating, and carving jack-o-lanterns, and cheesy Halloween-themed episodes of TV shows, and all the themed things that go into spooky season. And of course, candy and other treats. (Apple cider and pumpkin spice and everything yummy!)


This year, I won't be seeing all those trick-or-treaters. Though I am doing a bit of decorating, the plan is to leave out a bowl of candy (which yes, I will replenish throughout the evening) and watching all the Halloweentown movies (such a guilty pleasure of mine!). I'm looking forward to treats and movies and a cozy evening in, and I am sure my dog is looking forward to the doorbell not ringing all night. Unless of course the weather is fabulous, and then I will set myself up outside and hand out candy. With tongs.


It is different.


So, in honour of the season, I thought I'd "round up" some of my previous Halloween posts in an attempt to bring about some of that traditional Halloween spirit (haha, get it? Spirit? Halloween? hahaha... you know what? I'm not even sorry for that one.)


And like my second favourite pixelated Italian plumber says, "Here we go!" (Yeah, I said second favourite; Luigi wins.)


Writing Piece: The Dare


I was given a writing prompt, 24 hours, and 250 words to write a horror microfiction piece, and I really enjoyed coming up with this short short story. Read it here.



Recommended Reads Lists



I've included reviews for many of the books on this list below, but certainly not all of them; perhaps I should revisit some of these! (While all my TBR books stare at me accusingly...)



If you want cozy without the scary, maybe some of the books on this list are more your speed.



Seasonal Bucket Lists


I get excited for the changing seasons, and one year I made "bucket list" items for each season. Check out my fall bucket list for that year here, and when I revisited it, here.



Some Spooky Book Reviews


In no particular order...



I went heavy with the seasonal reads this fall. After starting this book a year ago and setting it down, I finally restarted it and finished it in September. Which meant I finally reviewed it!



Anyone else love all things witchy? This was my first read of October, and ushered in the spooky season well. Check out my review here.


And stay tuned for more book reviews! I have a couple more seasonal reads lines up for this month...



I loved the series on Netflix last fall, and it encouraged me to finally read this book. Check out my whole review here.



Yeah, I know it isn't actually a book, but hey, it is definitive Halloween, a super unique experience, and I was in this play one fall and had the most amazing time, so I did a review of the film.



Not Halloween exactly, but it has that gothic mood down, and October feels like the perfect time to read this classic. Which is what I did. And then reviewed it.



A few years ago I decided to read (at least) one Stephen King book every October. It was the first scary one I read, and though I didn't review it until later, it is definitely Halloween-appropriate. Unless of course you're super scared of clowns, in which case it is probably never appropriate.



If you want your Halloween a little less scary and a little more magical realism / historical fiction, this is a good one to check out.



One of the books my husband and I have read together, and if not King's best, certainly high on the list. If you can stand reading about a dystopian world right now, read this one.



Basically, you could just read Stephen King all Halloween season. It's never a question of IF I will read and review a King book in October; it's which one. This one is an obvious choice, so I read it (and then reviewed it) a couple of Halloweens ago, wrapped in a blanket out in our yard by a fire. Which is a great way to read a book like this, in case you were wondering.



Something a little different in the creepy world. I distinctly remember reading it on an airplane and finishing the last few pages waiting for luggage at the turnstiles. (And yes, I was with a group of students...).



If people terrify you more than monsters, something like this book might be more what you're looking for. It's uncomfortable; read my full review here.


 


There are a whole lot more reviews where these came from! Some are Halloween-appropriate, some are not. Or what about celebrating with a literary-inspired costume? (Some of my recent choices include Jane Austen and Mary Poppins.)


However you're celebrating this year, I hope you have a very Happy Halloween!


Stay tuned the rest of the month to see what else I'm reading, and don't forget to subscribe to my newsletter. I love to hear from you too, so you can comment below or via my contact page.


Happy Halloween, and happy reading!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page