top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Recommended Reads: Banned Books

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


“Something will be offensive to someone in every book, so you've got to fight it.” ― Judy Blume

Last week was Banned Books week, which I wrote about here.

As promised, I came up with a list of my favourite frequently-banned books.

So, my absolutely-not-at-all scientific list is as follows, in no particular order. Be sure to tell me what you think in the comments below!

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

In the "top 10 challenges" list as recently as 2011, for offensive language and racism. (Umm... did they actually READ the book? That's kind of the point...)

I teach this one to grade 10 students. Besides being one of my favourite books, I also think it is one of the most important books ever written.

Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers

Made the "top 10 challenges" list as recently as 2004, for offensive language, racism and violence. Yes, a book set in the Vietnam War from the perspective of an African American soldier dealing with war and racism had those things. Are you shocked?

I teach this one to one of my grade 12 classes.

Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck

2004 was a big year for the "top 10 challenges" list. A few classics made it. The reason for this one is offensive language, racism and violence. Again, it fits the context and the whole point...

I teach this one to one of my grade 11 classes. Apparently I teach a lot of challenged books.

Harry Potter (series), by J.K. Rowling

I remember when everyone got oh-so concerned with the Harry Potter series. After all, not only was a whole population of children reading again, they were apparently under the influence of Satanism and the occult, the main reason it made the "top 10 challenged" list for so many years (it actually was the first or second from the year the first was released, 1997, until 2003).

Bridge to Terabithia, by Katherine Paterson

One of the most frequently challenged and banned books in the States, this one apparently contains profanity, witchcraft and atheism. I don't remember reading any of that... but who knows.

I've taught it to elementary and junior high before.

The Handmaid's Tale, by Margaret Atwood

Reasons this one gets banned or challenges include sexuality, profanity, being "offensive to Christians", violence, and being "morally corrupt". Some have cited concerns with the brutality toward women (a little louder for the people in the back - THE POINT!)

This may be another one of those cases in which the more that people see reflections of current reality in literature, the more they are concerned by that particular piece of literature.

Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Profanity, sexuality, racial slurs and excessive violence. I don't think it's surprising that this one so frequently gets challenged. The themes are to show the degradation of young boys; of course it is going to be controversial!

This one I teach to grade 11 students.

The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton

Among the concerns for this one, considered the first YA novel, is the depiction of controversial and "ungodly" themes. Probably the issue with young people living difficult lives in poverty and the myriad of issues with it. Probably also violence.

Probably the point, in other words.

I teach this one every year, from grade 9 - 11.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, by Ken Kesey

This one gets challenged so much because of profanity, sexuality, racism, and an unsavory theme. Again, kind of the point.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou

Another one that makes the "top ten most challenged list" almost every year, this one is a concern because it is sexually explicit. Let's just remember that, since it is largely autobiographical, the descriptions are from her own life. People sometimes challenge it because she talks about being raped as a child. Which actually happened.

Perhaps the idea is, if we don't talk about it, it doesn't happen? Yeah, right.

The Great Gatsby, by F.Scott Fitzgerald

This one is frequently challenged and banned because of references to drugs, sexuality and profanity. I guess the we are all supposed to become disillusioned with the Jazz Age without those things?

I teach this one to one of my grade 11 classes.

Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

Hello, irony.

This one gets called into question for a few reasons. Initially it was "profanity": the words "hell" and "damn" are used. Then, it was banned because one of the books burned in the story is a Bible, and it was believed that it would encourage Bible-burning. In truth? Things that encourage people to question the government tend to show up on challenged and banned lists.

I've taught it before, to a grade 12 class.

1984, by George Orwell

This one is frequently challenged because it is cited as being "pro-communism ideas" and containing sexuality.

It's another one on my grade 12 reading list! And one of those super important books that everyone should read.

 

What did I miss? So many, I know! What's your favourite frequently challenged or banned book?

Comment below, or through my contact page, here. And don't forget to subscribe to my website to get my monthly newsletter, that gets released the first Tuesday of every month. (That's just in a couple days!) This is a pretty big one!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

Happy Halloween! A Round-Up...

Happy Halloween, everyone! Spooky season is here, even though, depending on where you are and what you think and how you feel, you may be celebrating it a bit differently this year. Last year was our

bottom of page