top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Recommended Reads: Best "Fall" Books

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


Now, don't get me wrong. I love reading which lying on a beach, or while sprawled out under the sun on my deck. But there is also something to be said for snuggling up with a book, a fuzzy blanket, and a cup of hot tea (oh! Or cider!).

Every month I set out my proposed "tbr"(To Be Read) list. I also choose the books I want to read next based on my mood, which is based a lot around the season.

So, what books say "fall" (or "autumn", if you prefer) to you? What follows is my personal list, in no order whatsoever.

Perhaps the book that made me fall in love with reading. Certainly the one that made me love classics. Rain and wind, dark secrets, romance and a gothic setting. Perfect for reading while the wind howls outside.

A school, magic, adventure... You may as well reread them them all this season! Something about that enchanted ceiling, with pumpkins or candles, just screams the season. Check out my review of the series, here.

I know this book shows up again and again on my "recommended reads" lists. That's because it's awesome! I'm traveling this autumn, so expect me to be exclaiming, "I'm going on an adventure!" while I'm wheeling my suitcase through the airport.

One of my absolute favourite books, this is the first one of the school year that I teach, and so it always reminds me of back-to-school time. Plus, the end of the story takes place on Halloween. Not only that, but this book just feels cozy. Check out my review of it, here.

Sherlock Holmes is a great choice for autumn, and this one is probably my favourite. A classic mystery like this is perfect to read while burning some autumn candles, with the wind and rain pounding on the house.

Another one that's shown up on quite a few of my "recommended reads" lists. Anne at one point says, "I'm so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers". I agree with you, Anne.

One of the most beautifully-written books that I've come across recently, I want to reread this one wearing a red scarf while sipping a mug of apple cider. Check out my review of it here.

Northanger Abbey

In case you haven't read my blog before, let me provide some context: I love Jane Austen. This spring, in honour of a Jane Austen ball I went to, I reread all of her novels. This one is one of the most fun, and this parody of gothic literature is perfect for snuggling up in front of the fireplace. (Okay, okay, for me it's the fireplace channel on TV). Check out my ranking and reviews here.

I'm cheating with this one. It's on my (physical) tbr shelf. I haven't actually read it. But I really want to, this fall or winter, and it just seems like a fall book to me. Here's part of the description from Goodreads: "A love letter to reading, a book for the feral reader in all of us, a return to that rich vein of storytelling that our parents loved and that we loved as children." Yeah, that sounds pretty awesome.

I enjoyed this YA novel, but didn't love it. (Hmm, I think this is a solid candidate for a review one day. Best not to say much more.) Crumbling ruins, creepy photographs, mysteries, dark and stormy settings... yeah, it will do for that fall mood.

 

I could certainly continue this list, but I have to make a call on when to end it, and I think now is the time.

What books make you want to bring out the sweaters and slippers and hot mugs of cider? What am I missing from this list?

Comment below, or via my contact page. While you're there, be sure to subscribe to get my monthly newsletter!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Something Different... A Favour.

Hello all, and happy Thursday! Happy March! Happy almost-spring-at-least-on-the-calendar... I know on Thursdays I typically post a book review, but today I have something different. A favour to ask. I

Happy Halloween! A Round-Up...

Happy Halloween, everyone! Spooky season is here, even though, depending on where you are and what you think and how you feel, you may be celebrating it a bit differently this year. Last year was our

bottom of page