top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrysta MacDonald

Happy New Year! A Round-Up

Updated: Jan 5, 2021

Since it is 2020, your new year celebrations probably look a bit different this year. Regardless, though, for me, much stays the same. I'll be ringing in the new year with my favourite person, my husband. I will be nostalgic, looking back and shaking my head and shrugging at 2020. I will be looking forward into 2021. I will set goals and reading challenges and make resolutions and probably drink some sparkling wine and toast to the season and celebrate the good and hope to improve the bad. We'll probably watch When Harry Met Sally after the clock strikes 12, because, well, because we always do.



And as part of all of that, I have been looking back through the blog, and I've compiled another "round-up" (similar to the ones I did for Halloween and Christmas). This time, all about those things that lend themselves to a new year.


For me, that mostly means book goals.


I reason out the argument between setting yearly reading goals and not in a post in the fall of 2019 when I was ridiculously behind on that year's goal.


If you want to see my previous challenges, you can check out my 2018 ones here. That was the year I tried to do way too many! Hahaha.


And in the interest of looking back, here is a "look-back" post reviewing my favorites of 2018. I also had one that followed, looking "forward" at that time to 2019. I also chat about how much I actually love New Years.



I also reviewed all my reads of 2017, and looking back, I really liked the approach I took to this. Perhaps something to incorporate in this year's lookback?


I also have a list of "recommended reads" I came up with to celebrate the end of one year and moving towards another!


This time last year I reviewed the previous year in terms of reading and writing goals and made some goals looking ahead to 2020.


I think it's safe to say 2020 didn't happen like any of us planned.


But if you're curious, here is my ongoing and updated post about my 2020 challenges. Though the year isn't completely over, it's close enough that you can have a look and see where I'm doing well and where I'm, well, not. Hopefully, I can meet at least one of my challenges yet!


I'll be posting a "looking back" and "looking ahead" post soon, including information about this new year's goals and challenges, so stay tuned for that!



 

Are you setting reading and other types of goals this year? Or in the interest of surviving 2020 are you leaving that all alone and celebrating it just being done? Are you celebrating at all?


As always, you can comment here or via my contact page, and don't forget to subscribe to my (occasional) newsletter.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Christopher

My collection of short fiction pieces has a tentative release of fall 2024. Here is a selection from that collection, to act as a "sneak preview". Copyright © 2018 Krysta MacDonald CHRISTOPHER Somethi

2023 Reading Summary

I know, I know, I know. I went and disappeared again. I'm sorry! No excuses, and only a thinly veiled apology. But, with December 2023 knocking on the door, I started looking at my reading goals for t

Happy New Year! Wrapping It All Up!

I know I've been MIA again for a while, but I wanted to take this festive opportunity to look back on 2021 and look ahead to 2022. It's been a year, hasn't it? And this year was still less of a crazy

bottom of page